The Hunger Games

October 22, 2013 § Leave a comment

Seeing as next week is Halloween, I decide to go ahead and take on Breaking Dawn Part II because I have been putting this off for a while and the year is nearly over. But despite of that, I must tell you that I do tend to stuff that involves young teenage literature and other stuff that follows the Twilight phenomenon like The Mortal Instruments and Fifty Shades of Grey. I’m basically saying that because it’s not my thing to be honest. However, this is not one of them.

Volturi

Actually, there’s also one bad reason which I’ll get to that near the end of this review. Now the good reason for this is because I like stories that takes place in a dystopian future where murder is considered a form of sport and entertainment like Battle Royale and The Running Man. Heck, people said this is basically a rip-off of Battle Royale itself and I don’t really care if it is, I’ve been reviewing movies that are rip-offs after all. So for me on The Hunger Games, it all depends if I’m fully in support of this or not so let’s jump to it anyway.

The movie focuses on Katniss (Jennifer Lawrence) whom volunteers to be part of the game so she could let Primrose (Willow Shields) live instead since she’s originally chosen. She is joined by Peeta (Josh Hutchinson) and they became the District 12 contestants for the 74th Annual Hunger Games tournament. With the help of their mentor and former Hunger Games contestant Haymitch (Woody Harrelson) and stylist Cinna (Lenny Kravitz) so they can prepare to fight and survive the games.

Cat

The two also have to be considered a famous couple to the audience and publicity notices (after Peeta exposed that he has feelings for Katniss who has feelings for somebody else). After training and Katniss surprised the Gamemakers at shooting the apple where they are during the private sessions, the games then begins and the two have ways to survive up until they are left in the game. Originally, the rules have change and it’s up to one to survive but before they decide to end themselves with poisonous berries known as Nightlock, they instead both won the game which splits the people in charge in the tournament and their victory is the start of what’s to come.

Nightlock

Okay, this will come to surprise that I like this movie and I’m not kidding about this. The story is fine, the characters are good and the actors gave it their with Stanley Tucci, Donald Sutherland and Woody Harrelson in it. There is minor issues like the shaky cam sequence which I can understand given that the movie was intended for PG-13 audience but this was made during the time when everybody complained about shaky cam technique in movies. The other is Effie Trinket played by Elizabeth Banks. Personally, I don’t hate the character to be honest and I don’t mind the look of the character but at the same time, her look is strangely surreal and I can’t take my eyes off it.

Effie

Uh, I don’t cause any offense so let’s just move on before I became overly obsessed and went to McDonalds or something. Now you all might think the bad reason that I mentioned earlier is because of Catching Fire being released next month and that’s simply not the case. I do wanna see the movie anyway but the thing is that something else is releasing before this and I’m afraid to take on this but dammit, I already on the other five so yeah, I have to review this…

I would mention Michael Corleone’s famous line from The Godfather Part III but that would mean I’m referencing a line as a response to a piece of turds that already has too many references. Okay, It’s time to get on with Breaking Dawn Part II and see how it ends but first, I need a drink first.

Woody

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Hunger Games at The Ludovico Technique.

meta

