Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole

September 28, 2016 § Leave a comment

Well, I am finally looking at the only movie he did that I haven’t seen. I mean, I have seen his stuff before and after this but this one is as much of an oddity as Michael Jordan’s Playground being that these two are made for general audience. I’m not complaining really but let me ask you this, if you ask somebody about what movies Zack has done, will this one be brought up or will that person said “oh, he made that awful Superman movie” or “that Sucker Punch guy? Fuck him”?

sucker-punch-1
And being that Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole is based on Guardians of Ga’Hoole book series by Kathyn Lasky, I don’t think I should talk about her mainly because I never read her stuff. Yeah, that’s the thing about how my sets of reviews of Zack’s stuff goes – George A. Romero? Yeah, I seen his stuff. Alan Moore? Good stuff and sad that he’s gonna retire from comics. Kathryh Lasky? Um, never heard of her until I start writing this review. The reason for this is because I don’t read much literary works to be honest and stuck on comic books as reading material. I do read novels from time to time and all but I somewhat have a dyslexia-like effect that makes me not understand much on written text even though I am writing very well.

ben-affleck
This movie is through the eyes of Soren (Jim Sturgess), an owl who lives in the Tyto Forest along with his older brother Kludd (Ryan Kwanten). After they heard the tale about the legends of the Ga’Hoole, the brothers attempt to test their flight but fallen to the ground before they were kidnapped and sent to St. Aegolius that was taken charged by Nyra (Helen Mirren). As Kludd decides to join Nyra’s forces, Soren then escapes along with his new friend Gylfie (Emily Barclay) and find ways to look for the legends of the Ga’Hoole along with Soren’s idol The Lyze of Kiel (Geoffrey Rush) with the help of Digger (David Wenham), Twilight (Anthony LaPaglia) and Mrs Plithiver (Miriam Margolyes).

apocalypse
Of all Zack Snyder movies, this is the one I haven’t seen prior to starting the series and I do have to be honest about this here. This movie is kind of okay. I mean, yeah there are notable Snyder motifs like bullet time and adding in the dark tone but the dark tone makes sense since I remember seeing movies like The Neverending Story, Return To Oz and Labyrinth that has its tone here and there. The voice acting is fine, the story is consistent and the score is good but is there any non-positives? Well, only one and this is very picky of me to say this so all I have to write is this – Really, A song by Owl City within the movie and the soundtrack? Clever.

owl-city
I do have little more to say and it’s the way on how this movie is promoted. Now I have seen the trailers and TV spots (with Kings and Queen by 30 Seconds To Mars playing) and it has played in cinemas. The issue is it involves Zack Snyder and this is what I’m about to get here. Now in his movies before and after this, he is present in audio commentaries and behind-the-scenes footage I watched a Blu-Ray copy and it looks like it’s the movie he did that he disowned because no audio commentary is involved and he didn’t appear in any featurettes. There are interviews on him involving the movie seen in YouTube and other places though but it’s odd that he’s not in present in the product itself. In fact, the only celebrity other than him that’s present in the featurettes is that kid from Modern Family.

rico
Not complaining really so it’s just one nitpick I should bring up. Beyond that, this movie is worth checking out even if you hate Zack and it is made for nearly everybody of all ages. So given that I probably wrote the most brief review of a Zack Snyder movie that I ever did, I should prepare myself for his next few. I have issue with the next one, I have words with the one after that and I do have stuff to say about its sequel but the stuff I’ll say… it’s something so back to me thinking which superhero rip-off I’m looking at before I get to um, Sucker Punch! This is gonna be something.

sucker-punch-2

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole at The Ludovico Technique.

meta

