Batman v Superman: Dawn Of Justice

November 30, 2016 § Leave a comment

Well, this is gonna be perplexing. Earlier this month, I revealed that I didn’t like Man of Steel mainly because it’s not the kind of Superman movie I want to watch continuously. There are examples on what’s good about the movie and what’s bad but I still didn’t like it and this is on the view of me growing up on his adventures since the nineties. Superman is supposed to be a boy scout who knows what he’s doing but smashing his villains to some Kansas store filled with people in hiding is not what a hero does. That being said, we are looking at a different world where Superman first appeared as a controversial figure in the worst way possible. So now comes to the sequel and this one is gonna be hard for me to say this so here it goes.

7-11

I can’t believe I gonna write this but Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice is not as bad as Man of Steel and also, it might not be one of the worst movies to come out this year. Instead, I actually think it’s one of the best and I really shouldn’t think that. But I liked it despite its flaws and now I am gonna take a risk saying this plus this is more interesting but how I came to like it is not based on me watching it for the first time in “Ultimate Edition” cut few months earlier. No, I came to like it based on the fact that I’ve seen the theatrical cut before that. Yeah, I came to the fact of liking this movie when it hits the big screens. And this is the same time where non-hardcore fans tear this movie apart for various reasons so what is up with me?

2016

Hmm, 2016 does suck but I don’t think that’s the reason so moving on. Taking place eighteen months after the events of the first movie, Superman (Henry Cavill) saved his girlfriend Lois Lane (Amy Adams) in Nairobi from a dictator who got strangely under attack by Anatoli Knyazev (Callan Mulvey) who was undercover but working for somebody else. The incident lead to major news coverage and caught the attention of politicians including Senator June Finch (Holly Hunter) and Lois is wondering what happened in the incident including a bullet she got that is not made by anybody including the black market so she’s getting to the bottom of this.

smile

Meanwhile, Bruce Wayne (Ben Affleck) is on the raging war against criminals and has a hatred on Superman ever since the battle eighteen months earlier costs lives in Metropolis including his workers. One of the workers Wallace Keefe (Scott McNairy) survived the catalyst but became a amputee who has a vendetta against Superman right down to spraying “false god” on Superman statue. Wallace’s actions lead to the attention of Lex Luthor (Jesse Eisenberg) and he unknowingly became a pawn to Lex’s plans to bring down Superman and other meta-humans while being responsible for Nairobi. With his game, he finds ways to make Batman want to stop Superman and vice versa.

lex

His game however didn’t plan out when during Batman’s battle with Superman, he discovered that Superman’s adopted mother shared the same name as his biological mother and they came to become partners stopping Luthor from turning Zod (Michael Shannon) into Doomsday and saving Martha Kent (Diane Lane). All with the unexpected help from Wonder Woman (Gal Gadot) who wants to retrieve a photo of her from Luthor that caught Bruce’s attention earlier. Doomsday has been unleashed and the battle grew worsen before Superman finally defeats him but with the costs of his life. In the end, Superman died and both Bruce and Diana Prince decide to form a team of other meta-humans that’s part of Lex’s computer files.

justice-league

Again, I like this movie and that’s even with notable flaws. To explain, I still not in favor of Superman being a controversial figure and a bit of a hard-ass that’s notably seen in this film but he is now trying to be a hero before all the battle happened so it’s progressive. As for Batman, how Zack Snyder interpret him actually fits well since he took the inspirations from Frank Miller’s early Batman stories like Year One and The Dark Knight Returns while giving a unique take by having Batman being acting much longer than Superman. Wonder Woman is another good note but the way she is handled prior to the battle is admittedly mixed by me, her fighting Doomsday on the other hand shows her being a warrior and fighter so that’s a plus.

angry-affleck

And now comes something else I’m afraid to say and that is Lex Luthor. Now there is backlash on his involvement. Some take him a Riddler-type campy villain with anger issues and quirky attitude and others think there’s no way that Jesse is fitted as Luthor. They prefer somebody like Bryan Cranston instead and that’s fine but here’s the thing – I actually like Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor and that’s maybe due to the fact that he’s a fun and twisted entrepreneur with a vendetta on his “gods” and it’s maybe due to his father issues or something, I don’t know but he is having a fun time playing Luthor and he may not be like Hackman and Spacey but he deserves it so bring on the pitches and forks.

lex-2

The story is straightforward even though it’s a bit convoluted, the acting is fine and the action sequences is a step-up plus how it tackles the approach following Man of Steel is something but should have been explored a bit more. The downside is how Zack handled Mercy Graves (Tao Okamoto) and Jimmy Olsen (Michael Cassidy) by killing them off, the latter who never met Superman. And there’s the little cringe-worthy portion involving other meta-humans that serves as fan-service but at least The Flash (Ezra Miller) has a little cameo time as a possible future version of him that shows up in Bruce’s dream after he have a dream involving Apokolips taking over… or was that a thing that really happened to Bruce? That confuses everybody and in both cuts of the movie no less.

flash

The real-world politics and situations is another thing that gets to me and it is not in your face but hey, this is Zack Snyder’s playground so throw Neil DeGrasse Tyson, Jon Stewart and… Nancy Grace! Uh, throw this actual celebrities to talk about why Superman exists. Overall, this movie may or may not be everybody who grew up with Superman but as for Batman and Wonder Woman fans, it might be something good for them and I’m a fan of the three so I am recommending it and I don’t know why but yeah, I like this movie and I’m proving myself that it’s worth seeing while keeping an open mind about it.

nancy-grace

Well, I may be done with this movie but now I got one more Zack Snyder movie to reveal this year… sort of! Yeah, I’m looking at Suicide Squad and before anybody says “David Ayers”, I will explain why it’s in Zack Snyder retrospective and it’s an explanation that I bet nobody didn’t expect.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Batman v Superman: Dawn Of Justice at The Ludovico Technique.

meta

