The Tooth Fairy 2

May 11, 2017 § Leave a comment

Well, I never expected to go down to this road but before I’ll get to talk about… this guy! Let me first bring up Alex Zamm. And who is this auteur that Hollywood is still hiring to this day? Well, he got his start on television work but it’s not until he enters the film business by writing a script to a classic that is… Chairman of the Board! Um, did I say classic? My bad. Since then, he got involved in such projects as Inspector Gadget 2, Beverly Hills Chihuahua 2 and the one that I reviewed years ago which is Dr Dolittle: Million Dollar Mutts. And this is the reason I set myself to a new low by reviewing this direct-to-DVD turkey.

But really, I can’t fault him since I’m sure he might be a father and makes movies for his children or a type of audience. I mean, it explains why Sean McNamara said yes to a bunch of Baby Geniuses sequels. However, I am gonna be grumpy with the fact that I’m reviewing a sequel to The Tooth Fairy starring Larry The Cable Guy. There are many questions on this movie like why did this warrant a sequel but despite negative reviews, the first movie is a box office hit. Also, another question is why this guy is the pick for the sequel and if somebody is gonna bring up Cars franchise, I would continue asking questions on that instead and that would a long time to rant about it.

So the movie revolves around Larry Guthrie (Larry The Cable Guy) whom won a car after a bowling miracle that involves him slipping on the floor and the bowling ball hits the whole bowling alley full of pins. Ignoring that it’s physically impossible, his winning also led to a break-up with his girlfriend Brooke (Erin Beute) who falls to mayoral candidate Bo Billings (David Mackey) but he’s not giving up even if it took nearly a whole year so he decides to help out Brooke at a child care centre while being a dick by saying The Tooth Fairy doesn’t exist to Gabe McGee (Gabriel Suttle).

And being a dick obviously caused him to become The Tooth Fairy with Nyx (Brady Reiter) as his case agent and has to do the duty or he’ll lose his favorite memory which is his bowling win. Like the first movie, he does his duties all while getting to shenanigans while winning a girl’s heart and making Gabe and other kids believing in the Tooth Fairy so the movie is almost a retelling of the predecessor except for location and character changes. I honestly don’t know what to else about the story other than the fact that it’s exactly like the first movie except it involves a blue collar comedian instead of a wrestling superstar.

Aside from the story, the movie is one of the worst sequels I’ve taken my time to watch and I don’t mean it by angering standards. I mean it by the fact that this is pointless and non-existent. To compare, the other movie Larry and Alex is involved in is Jingle All The Way 2 and it also plays out the first movie except instead of Turboman, it’s a talking bear known as Harrison Bear. Whether I should review this or that, it don’t matter because in the end, I’m reviewing a poor remake rather than a poor sequel with the same beats, inferior humor (like Larry talking to Nyx about Chicken which went too long) and weak lead.

I do apologize if this review is at best short but there is nothing to talk further about this movie because of what I said. I may not like the first movie as well but at least it did something – it proved that an actor best known for wrestling and action movie field can play a role that is so ridiculous that it felt more like a fake parody movie joke ala Adam Sandler’s movies seen within Judd Apatow’s Funny People. But if there’s anything to say, it’s the fact that it took me this long to review a movie starring Larry The Cable Guy and probably will never review another one again even if it’s a bad theme month idea.

At least the next one is a better choice for lookback review backlog but let’s just say that even though it’s been a while since I went to that one and that it is more than one story that I should tackle so had to think on how on this one.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Tooth Fairy 2 at The Ludovico Technique.

meta

